How To Add A Text Overlay to your Photos

Good morning bloggers, Today I am going to show you how to add text overlays to your photos to create nice ‘arty effects’.

This is my before photo.

This is my photo after the text overlay has been added.

This is easy to do in Photoshop. I am going to show you the steps I used in Photoshop CS5….Elements is very similar.

Step 1: Choose your text files.

The easiest way is to purchase these from digital scrapbooking sites on line.  Below are the text images that I used. (AASPN SciptTease Thankful1_7A,  AASPN SciptTease Thankful1_6 & K Pertiet_Mixed Bag No1-9 )

Step 2: Open your photo in Photoshop and place the text layer/s over the top.

Step 3: Change the blending mode.

In this example the ‘divide mode’ changed the text from black to white and I liked the effect.

Have a try for yourself!

All the best, Jenny

Leave a Reply

