My Inspiration: Donna White

photoA gorgeous person inside and out I have to say I have a bit of a scrap-crush on Donna White. 🙂

Donna’s work is super funky, layered like I like it, with a feminine edge that makes her one of my fav scrappers of girly pics! Donna is a fun loving scrapper who pushes the boundaries of her creativity and mixes it up with new techniques and trends. Here’s a quick “Getting to Know You” post from Donna:

Hi! My name is Donna White and I live on the Darling Downs in Queensland with my husband and two girls who are 15 and 17.

I started paper crafting about 13 years ago when my sister-in-law invited me to a Crafty Kids party. I was soon hooked on making cards for my family and friends. Then an old childhood friend opened a scrapbook shop underneath her house here in town and I popped in one day to have a look… and the rest is history!

I have been on a few Design Teams over the last few years, Out of the Hat, Scrap the Girls and now I am on the Scrapbooking from Scratch design team as well as managing their facebook page and blog. I am also lucky enough to be Peta’s retreat assistant and go to on average 5 interstate retreats a year. Yep! My frequent flyer card gets a good workout. I wouldn’t be able to do this without the love and support of my beautiful family.

I have dabbled in a few different styles of scrapbooking over the years, and when I look back at old layouts, I wonder what the heck I was thinking! But the memories are still in my albums. I scrapbook to savour the memories of our lives, but it is mostly a creative outlet for me. I love learning new techniques and using new products and love sharing them with others.

One thing that you will notice on most of my layouts is lots of layering, and never just a plain background. I love texture, mists, templates and colour. I have a large range (too much if you ask my husband) of scrapbook supplies and have now joined the world of Project Life which is just another outlet for my scrapbooking to evolve. I don’t document the everyday events, but rather occasions.

Sadly I am a bit slack with updating my blog since I started at Scrapbooking from Scratch (note to self: I really need to get back into that), but all of my work can be seen on the SFS Blog and their FB page. Now that my girls are older, it is hard to get photos of them, unless I ‘steal’ them off their instagram and facebook accounts (the joy of teenagers!), but I do love creating layouts for other people. It keeps my creative flair going.

The most important thing that I have discovered through scrapbooking is the beautiful friendships that I have found with those close by and those far away.

Hoping to meet you all soon — Don xx

See more of Donna’s work on her blogs: blogspot blog and at Scrapbooking from Scratch

Leave a Reply

