Guest Post: Bubbly Backgrounds by Belinda Scott

Hi my name is Belinda and I am thrilled to be writing this guest post for SC! Today, I want to show you a layout and how to create its background using a bit of detergent (washing-up liquid), mists, stencil, gesso, texture and stamps. I am someone who loves creating background that suits my photos or the mood I want to show. It’s fun just to sit down and play with my stash — you never know what will happen.

First, the layout:

Belinda_001

The background was really easy to make. Gesso your cardstock, whatever size that is going to be the background of your layout. I used 12x12in and it was white. When the gesso dried, I then put a stencil over that and using texture paste covered the stencil.

While that is drying get some Glad Wrap (cling foil) and lay it down on a smooth surface. It does not have to be completely smooth. Pour a little detergent over it and rub an area that is just bigger than the cardstock you gessoed. Spray some mist over it. I used two Tattered Angels Glimmer Mists, a blue and a yellow.

Layer the cardstock over the misted surface and pushed it down so most of the area would be covered. Lift it up and leave it to dry.

Belinda_002

When it had dried, I added a Kaisercraft background stamp and with a black pencil went around some of the circles from the stencil I used. Then, I added some green pebbles. At last, the other fun bit arrived, adding photo and embellishing!

Products used: Echo Park Paper, A2Z Scraplets, Kaisercraft Cardstock, Tiny White Letters and Stamp, Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist, Mad About Scrappin’ Flower, Scrapbooking In Geraldton Flowers, Washi Tape and Pebbles, Manor House Flower, Flourish With A Bling Flower, Heidi Swapp Word, Prima Flowers, Ink and Lace, Carolee’s Creations Tiny Whoopsy Letters, Texture Paste, Gesso, Black Pencil and Memento Tuxedo Black Ink

8 thoughts on “Guest Post: Bubbly Backgrounds by Belinda Scott

    • Hi it stops the mist from pooling in one area and cover the area without using too much mist. Also I found the mist ran into each other more with out the liquid. You could try a bit of water or anything you want. 🙂

Leave a Reply

