International Focus … Paula Cheney

Nic, Me, Paula & Lucy

A couple of years ago, I was asked to teach in New Zealand at the Spring Edition Retreat alongside the incredible Paula Cheney and the super gorgeous Nic Howard.

Paula is such a wonderful lady, incredibly talented and just the most beautiful and inspirational soul.IMG_4716

Paula has worked with and designed for some if this industry’s biggest companies including 7 Gypsies and is currently working alongside Tim Holtz, as his Creative Coordinator, designing the most AMAZING projects.

In April this year I’m so excited to be teaching alongside her again and if I get the chance, hopefully will sit in on a class or two!

Paula very generously took some time out of her busy day for an interview.

Where do you live?
Central Coast of California (half way between San Francisco and Los Angeles). 

How long have you been crafting and how did you start?
I have worked in the scrapbooking industry since 2005 but I have always been a crafter, a “maker” of some sort. My first job in a fabric store helped me understand patterns and how to create from scratch.  That led to other jobs in retail where I learned about display, following plans and directing people.  Each job gave me a little more experience to do the job I have today, working as Creative Coordinator for Tim Holtz brands.

What are three favourite things you like to use on a project?
A personal story, hand dyed cheesecloth and words cut from a vintage book.

Do you have a favourite technique?
I have two, go-to favorite techniques. Firstly, I love using Distress Stains as a background base. And secondly, I also have a little vintage dish on my desk where I keep bits of leftovers (lace, metal, tiny paper scraps).  I always seem to find what I am looking for in that little dish.  I think it’s a little bit magic.

Who are you inspired by?
The simple beauty of Rebecca Sowers work, the colors of Pam Garrison work and the genius mind of Tim Holtz.

What makes you happy?
Flea Market shopping, traveling overseas, spending the day with my husband, Jay.

Where and when  do you craft?
I am lucky enough to have a small bedroom that is a dedicated space for my work.  I am definitely a daytime crafter.  I like to work in natural light…sunshine coming through the windows and have music playing (Maroon 5, U2 and Adele are on my go-to crafting soundtrack).  I also believe in the power of walking away.  Sometimes when I am stuck and cannot figure out what to do next on a piece, I know I need to walk away and think about something else, cooking, shopping really anything that can give my mind a break from the problem.  90% of the time I will wake up the next day with the right direction.

I don’t know about you but I am especially loving that last comment about the ‘power of walking away’. Really need to take that onboard I think!

Paula’s work is just beautiful and her attention to detail is lovely. Here are a few projects that she emailed to me as her faves:

Thanks so very much Paula for sharing with us today. If you want to be truly inspired then head over to her blog and check out her easy tutorials and her beautiful projects.

— Natalie

Leave a Reply

