Interview with a Scrapbooker: Louise Nelson

261788_10150344371923569_208185753568_9833814_7849332_nLouise Nelson and I have been “Scrappy besties” for over 6 years now. We met at Seriously Scrapbooking here in Adelaide and have become amazing friends over the years. I have an enormous amount of respect for Lou as an artist and creative mind and over the years I have watched her creativity grow, change, evolve and turn into an extension of her beautiful soul.

I’ve worked and taught with her over the years but I have to say that actually participating in one of her classes is an incredible process and I highly recommend that you JUMP at the chance if she is teaching near you.  It’s such a delight to see her creative mind at work.

She is currently designing for Prima Marketing, 7 Dots Studio, Jenni Bowlin, Imaginarium Designs plus Guest Designing for numerous companies and challenge sites across the world.

Louise often scraps images of my gorgeous daughter Jessica, my hubby Trevor and of myself and I love the way she can bring out an incredible beauty that I struggle to often see. Here are some of my fave layouts that Louise has created of my family over the years:

I asked Lou to answer a few questions about her scrapbooking process.

Where do you live?
Currently I live in a lovely suburb of Adelaide, which is about 5-10 minutes from the beach.

How long have you been scrapbooking and how did you start?
I have been scrapbooking since May 2005.  I had started a new job and one of my new colleagues had bought in a scrapbooking album she had created of her recent travels. After seeing this I was smitten. She was kind enough to invite me to a crop at her home and lend me a stack of scrapbooking magazines to get me started.

What are a few of your favourite things to use on a layout?
At the moment I just love using the following on my layouts: paints, mists and inks, cotton and embroidery thread, sequins and adhesive gems, Prima Shabby Chic Treasure embellishments, and small black and white photos.

Do you have a favourite technique?
Strictly speaking it probably isn’t a technique as such but, I love hand-journalling my titles and subtitles. However, my ‘go to’ technique at the moment would be resist embossing in various forms; masks, stamps, freestyle. Mono printing is a very very close second.

Who are you inspired by?
Who and what! I could write a book just on this question alone, and the also on how they inspire me. My top 5 sources of inspiration would be: Couture fashion design especially that of Alexander McQueen, Digital Scrapbooking, Julie Fei-Fan Balzer (a Mixed Media artist), Emma Stafrace (a Graphic Designer/scrapbooker), and Contemporary Art.

What is your scrapbooking kryptonite (your biggest challenge)?
Probably having to use a single 6 x 4 or 5 x 7 coloured photo on a layout.

What makes you happy?
With my scrapbooking, probably the creative process itself. I get into a mental zone and I am never quite sure what the layout will end up like, even if I have an idea in mind. I love it when a layout ‘comes together’ and looks balanced, especially when I am using lots of random applications of mixed media etc.

Where and when  do you scrap?
I do have a dedicated scrap room in my current place. It is small but it does the job and it has an abundance of natural light. I scrap mostly on the weekends which are usually my regular days off from my day job. At the moment I am only getting the time to scrap 1 day a week due to the nature of my shift work, but I am hoping that this changes soon.

And finally, these are some of Louise’s recent fave projects:

So head over to her blog, leave her some love and say Nat sent you! — Nat xxxx

P.S. Louise is interviewed in our next mag (due out in April) and then has some gorgeous projects featured in our June issue! Make sure you catch her work there as well. — E

One thought on “Interview with a Scrapbooker: Louise Nelson

Leave a Reply

