“You” a layout by Leonie Neal-Dawson

Ed note: You’ve probably seen this lovely layout in our latest issue of Scrapbook Creations (that went on sale last Thursday). We wanted to show just how Leonie Neal-Dawson created these layouts.

The layout and technique I’m sharing along with the ‘Today’ layout featured on the blog earlier both came about through an online scrapbook challenge. Which is one of the reasons why I love participating in challenges, because they can really push you to create something you may never have thought of before. The challenge was to use a tea bag on your scrapbook page. I’m sure we’ve all heard of soaking a teabag in hot water and dripping the liquid over your page but as well as doing this I wanted to add something a little different.

You Instructions

  1. I began by cutting open a tea back and tipping the tea leaves onto my base cardstock. Using a palette knife I then added a dollop of Gesso and mixed the two together. Once the tealeaves were thoroughly mixed in I continued using the palette knife to spread the mixture over my page in a fairly random fashion and allowed it to dry completely. At this stage I had a very cool looking white texture on my cardstock, so I now needed to add colour. 
  2. I steeped a second teabag in hot water and once it had cooled down I proceeded to drip and splash the brown coloured liquid over the gesso mixture by holding the tea bag and squeezing out the liquid. This colour was a perfect match for the beach sand in my photograph.
  3. Using Faber-Castell Design Memory Craft Gelatos in blue tones I scribbled around the edges of the gesso texture. Then using a wet paintbrush gently blended the blue colours together.
  4. Next was matting my photo on some beach themed BoBunny patterned paper. Due to the lumpy background I used a piece of chipboard to back the photo matt on and raise the photo off the page slightly this also adds some dimension to the page.
  5. All that was left at this stage was to add some embellishments; small pieces of ripped washi tape scattered about the page, the butterflies, metal charm and twine. I also added a stitched boarder around the whole page to finish things off.
  6. Paint daubers were used to colour the chipboard title and I then added my journalling.

So, there you have it! It’s certainly a slightly different way to use a teabag but quite effective. Next time you come across a challenge that seems too hard perhaps try thinking of a different way to approach it, you never know what you might come up with.

2 thoughts on ““You” a layout by Leonie Neal-Dawson

Leave a Reply

