Guest Post: Flair Designer – Sandra Allan

20140130_67957-Edit

Flair buttons are hot property right now in the papercraft world, and they come in a myriad of colours and designs. Despite being an avid collector of flairs for a long time, I still could never find the perfect flair button to complete my layouts.

What is one to do? Bite the bullet and create my own line of flair buttons, of course!

I am often asked where the inspiration comes from for my flair designs. I find my inspiration everywhere! My life, my family and my surroundings inspire me beyond words. On occasion, the colours, patterns and textures in my own scrapbook layouts inspire my flair designs. This is exactly how the two flairs on this layout came into existence. Sometimes, I will start a layout and have to set it aside while I play with PhotoShop because I’ve become so distracted by the design ideas bouncing around in my head. Once I get those ideas out, the layout just falls into place.

The layout I am sharing today was the inspiration for our new collection of flairs due for release very soon. 

Mixed media and layering play a big part in the layouts that I create. I often work on a background with gesso, texture paste, inks and mists adding layers of interest and texture until I am satisfies with the effects before layering the pages up with papers, cards and further texture. I am excited to try my hand at creating some flair button designs that reflect the beautiful textures and tactile experience that a mixed media layout possesses.

For this layout, I started by creating a background on linen cardstock by mixing some Tim Holtz distress ink with texture paste to give the background a little colour before applying it over a dotted mask. I applied the yellow first, allowing it to dry before adding the dark coral allowing them to overlap slightly. I then brushed on the remainder of the coral texture paste over bare cardstock and yellow dots.

After the texture paste was given time to dry, I began layering cards and paper, adding finishing touches of vintage cotton I found in my mother’s old sewing basket, butterflies that were hand stamps and inked, a little stamping, washi tape and of course some Studio Fourteen40 flair.

To give a final touch of texture and subtle interest, I added sequins over the top of some of the dots, which give a glorious glimmery finish.

Full product list:

  • Linen cardstock
  • Dylusions ink – post box red, Lemon Zest, squeezed orange
  • Liquitex ink – carbon black (watered down)
  • Stazon Ink – black
  • Jo Sonja’s texture paste
  • Vintage cotton thread
  • Studio Calico Paper –
  • October Afternoon paper-
  • acrylic stamps – Studio Calico & 7 Gypsies
  • Just add colour PL 2×2 cards
  • Becky Higgins – seam Foam Project Life 3×4 card
  • Amy Tangerine – date stamp
  • Creative – Polaroid Frames
  • Product packaging
  • Thickers – hardcover
  • Washi tape – large chevron
  • Foam tape
  • Prima mask
  • Sequins
  • Studio Fourteen40 flair – Thriftshop
One thought on “Guest Post: Flair Designer – Sandra Allan

Leave a Reply

