Interview with the delightful Ebony van der Starre!

Earlier this year I was lucky enough to attend an Australian scrapbooking retreat, Escape 2 Create. Being a guest teacher at this retreat is one of the most highly sought after jobs going around and I was THRILLED to find out Ebony was teaching – I have loved her work from afar and have been a secret stalker of her blog for a few years!

Ebony and I hit it off straight away – funny how you meet someone and feel like you have known them all your life – and this girl is the sweetest and most genuine person and I am privileged to be able to call her my friend.

I love everything about her style. To watch her create was incredible – natural flair does not quite describe it.

So, I sent a few of my fave questions over to Ebony. 


Where do you live?
I live on the south west coast of Victoria in a town called Warrnambool. It is a beautiful town beside the sea.

How long have you been scrapbooking and how did you start?
I began scrapbooking before the birth of my first child about 11 years ago. I saw a scrapbooking shop and wanted to give it a go. I was hooked straight away!

What are your five favourite things to use on a layout?

  1. Paint
  2. Mist
  3. Stamps
  4. Black pen
  5. Washi tape

Do you have a favourite technique?
I don’t know that I have one particular favourite technique but I LOVE creating my own backgrounds with mists, paints, stamps and lots of arty products!

Who are you inspired by?
Lots of people inspire me.  I love to be inspired by all kinds of artists, scrapbookers and mixed media artists. I dont have a favourite really.

What is your scrapbooking kryptonite (your biggest challenge)?
Okay, I can’t do muted tones! I only ever create with bright colours so I struggle to use muted or dark tones and colours! And fussy cutting!!! I’m too impatient for that!

What makes you happy?
Lots of things make me happy but I am most happy when I get to spend time with my family and friends. Just hanging out enjoying each others company. Watching girlie movies and eating chocolate makes me pretty happy too!

Where & when do you scrap?
I have to admit this year has been a crazy, busy year for me as headed back to study and work 5 days a week o I don’t get nearly enough time to scrap as I used to. My scrapping is done usually early evening ( I’m not a night owl!) or on weekends when I get a chance or sadly when a deadline is looming. I seem to only get time to scrap when I have creations due in for Design teams which sadly I have had to cut back on. I have my own ‘little” scrap space so I am lucky I can just leave everything set up.

Here are a few of Ebony’s fave layouts:

Thanks for sharing with us, Ebony — make sure you head over to her blog and leave her some love.

3 thoughts on “Interview with the delightful Ebony van der Starre!

Leave a Reply

