Guest Post: Travels Shadow Box by Amy Prior

Hi everyone! Amy Prior here today and I am so very excited and honoured to be writing this guest post for the fabulous Scrapbook Creations Blog today.

I recently was commissioned by my brother to create a very special and unique Christmas present for his girlfriend and I was so excited to tackle this one for him. His girlfriend is constantly ooing and aahhing over my work so he knew she would just love a giant scrapbook creation made by me highlighting their recent travels around the globe.

tn_Travels_Shadow_Box_By_Amy_Prior

My brother did not give me much in the way of direction simply that it had to be aqua blue and include the 22 photos that he had on a memory card for me and the theme must be travel. Oh, and he wanted it to be BIG! So I decided to go with three A3 sized Shadow Box Frames which I knew would be perfect and keeping in the travel theme, I printed a giant old map of the world onto three A3 pieces of paper and used as my background which was probably as far as the travel theme went! He said he trusted my vision (hehehe) so flowers galore were definitely featured!

tn_Travels_Shadow_Box_By_Amy_Prior2

Because I own an inkjet A3 printer, the first step after printing my map background was to give it a protective coat so I did not smudge the print work. I knew I wanted to add lots of fun texture to my background and Inkjet printing will run and smudge with any kind of water based products added. To protect the image of the map I have sprayed the entire images with Helmar Fixative Spray and followed by a coat of Helmar Matt Sealer Spray also. I actually ran out of ink after printing this so I wasn’t taking any chances of ruining it LOL.

tn_Travels_Shadow_Box_By_Amy_Prior3

Once I knew that the map image was safe from destruction, I have gone to town adding various shades of Ranger Crackle Paint including Rock Candy, Broken China Blue & Antique Bronze shades. I have simply splattered, scraped and painted lots of varying thicknesses so I would have a nice variation of crackle sizes, textures and colours throughout the entire background.

tn_Travels_Shadow_Box_By_Amy_Prior4

Once all my crackle paint was dried completely (some of this took overnight because I had a few very thick blobs), I have added some random stamping using a WOW Embossing Powder Stamp along with some Ranger Embossing Ink and then I have lightly sprinkled various WOW embossing powder colours over the top including Cotton Candy Blue, Pastel Blue & Bay Area Blue Shades and heated to set. I just love the random text everywhere.

tn_Travels_Shadow_Box_By_Amy_Prior5

Next I had to focus on the photos. I had edited each photo in Photoshop to correct lighting etc and I have also added a watermark to each image stating the place/country that the photo was taken in before printing them out rather small so I could fit them all in and still show some of that map behind the images.

tn_Travels_Shadow_Box_By_Amy_Prior6

I have then distressed all the edges of the photos and mounted each one on various blue shade cardstock which also had distressed edges. I love how the mounting with the blue really pops off the background on this project.

tn_Travels_Shadow_Box_By_Amy_Prior7

Everything was adhered on this project using my Hot Glue Gun. I really wanted to create a keepsake that would last forever and because I was working fast, the hot glue gun worked perfectly!

tn_Travels_Shadow_Box_By_Amy_Prior8

The various A2Z Scraplets Chipboard Titles were decorated using crackle paints from Ranger & Viva Décor as well as Lindy’s Stamp Gang Starburst Stain Sprays.

Full product list includes:

  • 3 x A3 White Shadow Box Frames
  • Printed Old Map Image
  • A2Z Scraplets Chipboard Titles (Sweet Memories, Awesome & Discover)
  • Flourish with a Bling Chloe Pearl Flourish & Grace Pearl Flourish
  • WOW Embossing Powders in various shades of blue & Call Me! Stamp Set
  • Ranger Distress Crackle Paints
  • Ranger Archival Ink in Coffee Brown
  • Ranger Inkssentials Blending Tool
  • Lindy’s Stampgang Starburst Stain Sprays in various Blue & Brown Shades
  • Viva Décor Crackle Paints
  • Heidi Swapp Banners
  • Prima Marketing Various Shabby Resin
  • Various Flowers from Prima Marketing, Manor House Creations, Flourish with a Bling, Kaisercraft & Green Tara
  • Various Shades of Blue Cardstock
  • Hot Glue Gun

WOW what a mammoth product list huh? I just love making handmade gifts for friends and family. They are always treasured so much more than the box of chocolates or random bath gift pack.

Thank you so much to the amazing Scrapbook Creations team and especially Ellen for having me today it has been a blast! If you would like to follow me feel free to visit my blog or you can also like my Facebook Page here. If you are using Instagram, Pinterest or Twitter my username is amypriorcom and I look forward to inspiring you all some more in the future.

Blessings, Amy xx


callout_guest

If you’re interested in publishing a guest post with us, please email Ellen at scrap.editor [at] gmail.com with the subject SC Blog GUEST POST. (This will make sure it doesn’t get filtered as spam.)

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: Travels Shadow Box by Amy Prior

  1. Pingback: Travel Shadow Boxes - Scrapbooking style - Scrapbook Creations Guest Designer | Amy Prior Designs

Leave a Reply

