Anatomy of a Sketch (part 2)

Christmas Release PD 2Today is the second of a 3 part series walking you through how I put a page together from a sketch. You can find part one here.

Emma from Page Drafts (and SC’s digital expert for 2014) has created these three sketches for her December challenge. I decided this was the perfect opportunity to scrap a few Chrissy images and this page was super easy.

When you first look at a sketch, it can seem a little overwhelming. So, print it out, grab a pen and break it down. 

img013


I grabbed a the papers I needed – again, straight from the Heidi Swapp Believe 12×12 Paper Pad and printed off my photo – this sketch calls for three skinny photos or a photo cut into three but I decided to go for one photo to fill the space. (And then my printed died!)


I chose my background paper, trimmed it to 10×12 inches and adhered it to cardstock.


The next steps for this sketch are pretty easy – two or three one inch strips and a punched strip adhered down the side. Too easy.


I then popped my photo into place just so I could work out what needs to happen next. The banners on the right hand side needed to go on – I grabbed a couple of scraps and but two banners and adhered them level with my photo.


The sketch calls for a couple of tabs on the left of the photo but I used some embellishments from the Heidi Swapp Believe Ephemera


A few little stars from the Ephemera pack, silver sequins and a little holly transparency were staple on over the banners.


I added my title, another embellishment and a few more sequins.

And I’m all done!

I will add my journaling later on paper strips – I dont put my journaling on my pages until after I have photographed them – to me, journaling is very private and not something for the whole world to see.


So what do you think? Did I make it look easy? I have one more sketch to show you so dont forget to pop back tomorrow! — Natalie

3 thoughts on “Anatomy of a Sketch (part 2)

  1. Pingback: Anatomy of a Sketch (part 3) | Scrapbook Creations

Leave a Reply

