Anatomy of a Sketch (part 1)

Christmas Release PD 3It’s no secret I am a fan of the humble sketch. Here in Adelaide I have been teaching “Nat’s Sketch Class” for over 6 years at Seriously Scrapbooking and it’s one of my most popular classes. I love to show people how easy it really is to work from a set design, all the hard work has been done for you …. you just need to match your papers to the photos!

There are so many sketch sites around and the lovely Emma from Page Drafts has created these three sketches for her December challenge. I decided this was the perfect opportunity to scrap a few Chrissy images.

Today is the first of a 3 part series walking you through how I put a page together from a sketch. Let me talk you through it. 

img015

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

First have a look at the sketch and choose your photos – this one calls for three square images. I printed off 3×3 inch photos and one to go at the top – that I later discarded as I decided to put an embellishment rather than a photo there.

Don’t forget sketches are just a base to start and are subject to your own personal interpretation.

Next work out how many papers you will need – I can see we will need at least 4 different papers for this one. (I’m working from the Heidi Swapp Believe 12×12 paper pad – it makes coordinating papers super easy.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

First, I use white cardstock for my base then trim a base paper to be 11.5 x 11.5 inches and stick it down.


Next step, I matted the three photos and adhered them together. The sketch calls for a piece under the photos – to make it the correct size, I measured the length of my photos then made my paper slightly smaller in width. The photos are 8.5 inches in width – I made the paper 8 inches. Once I had cut this, I placed it on the background paper – only to realise it got a little lost – so I matted it with Green Cardstock to make it stand out a little more.  I also cut and matted a piece to go across the top too – 8 x 2.25 inches.

 


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next step can be the hardest – adding the embellishments. Looking at the sketch, I need a couple of flourishes, flowers and a title. I pulled out my Imaginarium chipboard and decided to use glittery baubles at the top where the sketch calls. Inked white and dipped in glitter – PERFECT! A shape cut with the Big Shot was perfect to sit them on to offer a little separation from the papers.


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the embellishments at the bottom, a couple of flourishes cut from the same colour cardstock I matted in, white glitter dipped Imaginarium chipboard branches and a Piontsettia cut from the Big Shot are perfect – keeping it simple is the way to go as the papers are fairly busy.


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I cut the title from my Cameo in the same papers I used for the little banner flags so that they matched but as they got lost on the bust papers, I matted them onto a piece of green cardstock.


So that is how this page came together – quick, easy and I think it looks pretty good!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Make sure you visit us tomorrow for the next installment! — Nat

2 thoughts on “Anatomy of a Sketch (part 1)

  1. Pingback: Anatomy of a Sketch (part 2) | Scrapbook Creations

  2. Pingback: Anatomy of a Sketch (part 3) | Scrapbook Creations

Leave a Reply

