Interview with a Scrapbooker: Belinda Spencer

_20130822_1420 copy-001

Today I’d like to introduce you to an amazing Adelaide scrapbooker, Belinda Spencer!

Belinda teaches with me at Seriously Scrapbooking and is one seriously amazing scrapper. I love her versatility and her love of techniques — her stamping is simply amazing and attention to detail is admiral!

Belinda is a currently part of the Darkroom Door Design Team, The Scrapbook Store, White with 1 and has been on numerous teams over the years.

I had the chance to ask Belinda a few questions recently. 

Tell us about where you live?
I live on a farm in the southern Adelaide Hills with my husband, two beautiful children, 2 dogs, 1 cat, 9 chooks, 9 fallow deer and 150(ish) cows. I feel very lucky to live where I do and to be visited regularly by koalas, kangaroos and lizards. I feel a little less lucky when deadly snakes slither by!

How long have you been scrapbooking and how did you start?
I have been scrapbooking for about 11 years now. A workmate had shown me her scrapbook and after taking a trip to Tasmania I thought it would be the perfect way to document my holiday. I didn’t become totally obsessed with it until after the birth of my first child in 2005.

What are your 5 favourite things to use on a layout?
My five favourite things to use on a layout, in no particular order, are… 1. distressing, 2. inking, 3. misting, 4. stamping, 5. chipboard.

Do you have a favourite technique?
My favourite technique right now is to create my own backgrounds using a combination of misting, spritzing with water, adding gesso over a template and stamping. Step back and take a look at it and then flick a bit more mist over the top.

Who are you inspired by?
The people who inspire my scrapbooking the most are:
– my children for the endless source of fun photos
– Tim Holtz with his many fabulous products and awesome techniques
– fellow DT members with their amazing creativity and originality

What is your scrapbooking kryptonite (or your biggest challenge)?
Without a doubt, glitter is my scrapbooking kryptonite. While I have to admit it does provide a lovely effect on the right project, I just can’t stand the mess! I seem to end up with it all over my desk, my face, my clothes, the photo on my layout, the kids and even the cat. Anywhere it is not meant to be, that is where I find it. A close runner up for me is bling. I very rarely use it as I prefer a grungier look than a blingy one.

What makes you happy?
These are the things that make me happy: my children, my husband, my home, scrapbooking, my pets, reading and chocolate. Not always in that order.

Where and when do you scrap?
I try to scrap every single day to keep the creativity flowing. I usually scrap when the kids are at school or asleep at night to try and avoid the many little interruptions. At this stage I don’t have a room that I can dedicate as my scrap room so my desk sits just inside the front door. It is always embarrassing when I have visitors though as the first thing they see is the chaotic state of my desk.

You can see more of Belinda’s work on her blog! But, she’s also shared some of her fave projects with us right here.

NatMayThanks for sharing with us Belinda!

Natalie x

One thought on “Interview with a Scrapbooker: Belinda Spencer

Leave a Reply

