My Inspiration: Tracey Fowler

Today, I would like to introduce to you a talented lady by the name of Tracey Fowler.

I first came across Tracey’s work when we met at the June Scrapbook expo in Brisbane a few years ago and I have been a massive fan ever since! So grab a coffee, sit back and enjoy getting to know one of my scrappy crushes up close and personal! This is what Tracey has to say about her scrapbooking journey.

I was introduced to scrapbooking 9 years ago, when a friend shared with me her album that she had been creating of her baby boy. I loved how she was recording her little man’s life and wanted to start my own album for my son (which I have never completed).  I live in Perth, Western Australia. I have two fabulous boys, a supportive and loving husband, and a passion for creating!

In the past I have dabbled in card and invitation making, but it wasn’t until I was invited to a Kazsazz demonstration, that I began to find a passion for scrapbooking. I become a Kaszazz consultant for 1 year, and hosted my own demonstrations. I learnt a lot while I was with Kazsazz, but I needed to spread my wings and discover more about this fabulous hobby!

Scrapbooking has taken me on not just a creative journey but, a life journey. I have had some awesome experiences, grown within and made lifelong friends.  I have attended many classes of talented scrappers, attended the South Bank Scrapbooking Expo for the last 2 years and demonstrated and helped on the Scrapmatts stand in Perth for the Craft & Quilt show.  In January 2013, I was fortunate enough to attend CHA in Anaheim CA. This was the most fabulous week I have ever experienced. I meet amazing people, saw outstanding projects and layouts by talented Design Teams from around the world and shared the experience with some very special ladies.

I am privileged and grateful for the opportunity to be on two fabulous Design Teams. Scrapmatts and Flourish With A Bling  and a Creative Team Member with White  with 1.  I have loved how being a part of these teams have not only challenged me and pushed me out of my comfort zones but also given me so much inspiration and support.  18 months ago I created Basket of Memories blog so that I could hopefully inspire other scrappers the same way as they have inspired me.

I don’t think that I have a particular set style of scrapbooking as I am constantly experimenting with new looks and techniques. Perhaps you could say that my style is slightly “whimsical”, a little “shabby”, and a possibly “modern pop”.  I love to add texture on my pages, which I achieve by using a mixture of torn paper, structure paste, stencils, stamps, haberdashery, chipboard, layers, flowers & metal embellishments.  My photos are always my inspiration to my layouts. Depending on the feeling I get from the photo and the story I want to tell, will often determine my style for that particular layout.  I love to scrap my boys but also my nieces and nephews.

One of my favourite techniques at the moment is to create my own background on layouts with structure paste, stamps, stencils, ink & mists.  This gives your pages an individual and unique look.  My secret when creating my backgrounds on a layout is pick two -three colours that work well together and use either white or black to help blend the colours all together with a texture stamp.

My all-time favourite products that I just can’t live without would be, anything Tim Holltz (especially his distress ink pads and stains), Scrapmatts Chipboard, Flourish With A Bling goodies, Prima products, flowers from Prima and Manor House Creations.

My advice to anyone starting out this addictive hobby, would be don’t doubt yourself.  I believe that there is no wrong or right in scrapbooking. You should just create from your heart, and let your creativeness tell the story. Don’t be afraid to try something new or different to what you normally do.  There are so many fabulous online tutorials, classes and blogs that you can get inspiration from and share different techniques. Flourish with a Bling has monthly tutorials held by the design team members to share their ideas and techniques that they are using.

I believe that scrapbooking is all about bringing your photos and story alive. I hope that one day my family can look back and treasure the memories of today.

ReneeIveson

See more of Tracey’s work on her blog. A big thanks to Tracey for sharing her passion and creativity with us! — Luv Renee xoxo

3 thoughts on “My Inspiration: Tracey Fowler

Leave a Reply

