Design Diva week: Kayla’s love of D-Lish

IMG_1456(This post was written by Kayla MacAulay, who has the CUTEST puppy ever.)

I created this page to showcase the gorgeous products in the D-Lish Scraps store. I picked out a few things from my stash to use and realised that I had subconsciously created a colour scheme of grey, yellow & blue. I decided to stick to this colour palette (throwing a few more little bits in here and there along the way) and came to create this page about my gorgeous puppy. I love being on the design team at D-Lish scraps because I was lucky enough to be able to use lots of little bits & pieces from Amanda’s store. She stocks such a fabulous array of products and lines and at such affordable prices. She even stocks some of the brands that are harder to get here in Australia like Freckled Fawn and Skipping 5. Most of the embellishments on this page come from her store. 

The ingredients for my layout

Cardstock: Aussie Scrap Source Kraft Cardstock
Patterned paper: Dear Lizzy Gold Dot Foil Vellum, My Minds Eye Grey Stripe Paper
Alphabets: Jillibean Soup Alphabeans, American Crafts Thickers
Embellishments: A Piece of Cake designs Cherry Flair, Studio Calico Atlantic Cork circles, Basic Grey Paper Garlands, Studio Calico Atlantic Cork Chevrons, The Twinery Stone Twine, Studio Calico Felt Bow Paperclip, Pebbles Inc Lakeside Tag, Heidi Swapp Lattice Mask, Gesso, Glimmermist
D-Lish Products used: Black Sequin Trim, Freckled Fawn Resin Triangle Pieces, Freckled Fawn Dew Drops, D-Lish White Wooden Peg, Skipping 5 Puffy Things, White Bitty Blooms, Yellow Paper Rose, Resin forget me nots.

The how-to.

  1. To begin this page, I wanted to start with a neutral base. I chose Kraft as I wanted the colours to really ‘pop’ on a subtle background. I began to assemble my papers. I didn’t want to over think it too much but needed to play around and move bits on the page to know what I wanted to do with my design. I decided in the end to keep the design really simple and centred. To create some texture I used a Heidi Swapp Lattice stencil and some gesso and gently smooched (I can’t think of a better word!) gesso over the stencil. I didn’t use the whole design of the mask and chose to just fill in bits here and there. I’m not a perfect scrapbooker by any means and relish in the mistakes and imperfections on my pages!
  2. I then started layering. I wanted this page to be all about the textures and so I chose a simple grey stripe and my favourite gold dot foil vellum to layer the photo on. The photos just don’t do this vellum justice. It’s stunning and I may have bought every piece I could get my hands on! When adhering this to my page I actually used 3D foam pop dots so I could create dimension and provide room to layer bits underneath the photo/centrepiece.
  3. To embellish I pulled out bits EVERYWHERE. My desk was looking like a mess at this stage. I like to pull out everything that fits into a certain colour scheme. In this case it was the grey, yellow and blue. I also thought that the cork matched in well so I pulled out a few cork embellishments I had in my stash. To embellish I don’t stick straight away, most often I place everything around and spend about 10-15 minutes moving bits on a page until the design catches my eye. In this case I chose to keep all of my embellishments pretty tightly clustered around the photo as I didn’t want to distract away from that. Once happy with my design I used glue to adhere everything down.
  4. Finally I thought I would share my favourite technique at the moment & that is twine circles. I’m obsessed! as you can see on this page I have used one to frame a gorgeous cherry flair badge (by A Piece of Cake Designs). I think it really helps to ‘ground’ something to a page..especially flair as they are so popular right now. The easiest way I have found to make these circles and have them ‘stay put’ is to grab the length of twine and wrap it around about 2/3 fingers. The amount of times you wrap the twine around depends on how thick you want your twine circle to be. I usually do it about four to five times. I then used my Tim Holtz tiny attacher (I love this tool!) to staple down the bits that my stapler would reach. Otherwise a few dots of a strong glue works well to keep it adhered.

I hope you enjoyed a closer look at one of my pages & my process. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Design Diva week: Kayla’s love of D-Lish

Leave a Reply

